The B(e)/Witching Hour!

Off late I have noticed that I invariably wake up between three and four. I’m fresh and don’t go back to sleep for the next two hours at least. And then it’s time to get up and on with the day. So, I who has associated herself, for the longest time, with the night jasmines and owls of the world see myself in the company of the larks and morning glories. Not that I am complaining but I was a bit concerned that I may not be getting enough sleep. What does one do when a worm of a question wriggles in the mind? Google search! So, I checked and found that it could be,

Health Issues: Google told me it could be stress, insomnia, depression, aging or a resetting of my circadian cycle. Not a very happy scenario and reading this stressed me out. Further checking and rechecking assured that I am good but definitely getting older by the year like everyone else. The thing that goes in my favour is that I usually get five hours of sleep at a stretch, and I am active through the day, not sleepy. Also, the summer season and my pre-industrial ancestors can be blamed; so I am safe in the health zone since my body might not be needing the mandatory seven hours of shut eyes.

The witching hour: The time of the day when the barrier between the spiritual world and the world as we know it is the thinnest. It’s that time of the day when one is more inclined to get a message, or an inspiration. Not that I am a diehard fan of angels and demons but then a divine intervention from any quarters is always welcome. This is the reason that I want to believe in the witching hour working for me, a kind of awakening and it makes sense because

Hour with witches appeals to the devil in me. The probability of me getting a divine message is as good as getting an angry letter in my inbox. People who know me would definitely call me friendly and making some more friends from hither, thither or any whither won’t harm me for sure. And the world would definitely be a much better and happier place if we all go the Hogwarts way and relearn a thing or two about friendship.

Even the bitching hour makes sense to me since it is the time I can sit with the Universe and rant, give vent, complain, basically bitch about the world in general and then finish it off with gratitude. The world is a beautiful place after all and there’s so much to be happy, and grateful about.

For one, I would most certainly want it to be the Bewitching hour because it’s actually quiet and peaceful. No pings, rings and tings to disturb the things that need my undivided attention. There’s a lot that can be done. I get two extra hours which are totally mine and I can do anything that I want to; read, write, learn, watch, listen to, oh there are myriad possibilities! I am bewitched by the prospect and then I can also be a witch and bitch if I wish to for this hour is only mine!

Cover art by MidnightPremiere

4 Comments Add yours

  1. Denise Krebs says:

    Wow, what an interesting take on that getting up too early. I have experienced these three o’clock in the morning questions that haunt my sleep. Most times I am able to go back to sleep after a while. I love how you have embraced the bewitching hour and are making it work for you. This made me laugh and then smile in satisfaction:
    “…basically bitch about the world in general and then finish it off with gratitude.” What a healthy order you have those two in!

    Liked by 1 person

    1. A. Shruti says:

      Hehe! Glad that I could get you bewitched too. Thank you!

      Like

  2. Lakshmi Bhat says:

    Three and four does seem a little too early but I was happy to read what you do in those hours. It is good some time for ourselves. I get up a five . I love to watch darkness giving way to light and hear the birds talking to each other. A good way to start the day.
    Enjoyed your post .

    Liked by 1 person

    1. A. Shruti says:

      Thank you! Glad you liked it. Yes, early morning chatter of birds is really refreshing not to miss that early morning breeze. Liked the “darkness giving way to light” part something positive to look up to.

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a comment