A Hug In A Mug!

I am a milk person; having grown up drinking milk in one go, the bottoms up style, given the race between me and my brothers in our childhood. Coffee is something I keep for occasional drinking when I am in a mood for a good conversation or want to savour the weather, rainy or cold. In between I had become a regular coffee drinker for the simple reason that I was no more interested in Bournvita or plain milk. And then I quit drinking it again when it started appearing to be mundane because I truly want to enjoy my mug of coffee whenever I have it.
Today I woke up to an unusually cold morning, something I don’t experience much here in Bombay. Having grown up in Jaipur and Delhi, the winters here are no winters at all but that is beside the point. The pleasant chill made me want to whip up a nice frothy coffee and I reached for my mug as usual. This is my usual mug in which I have been drinking milk daily since it was gifted to me by my children, my class of VII-B who are now going to be in class X, with a picture of us all imprinted on it. The image is getting a little faded with constant use and the thought that I should stop drinking from it crossed my mind.
My association with mugs is as old as my marriage. Before that we all had our glasses to drink milk from. Abhay got me my first mug after marriage which had our zodiacs on it. It meant that the coffee was to be shared while my milk and his tea were to be entertained as independent choices. I went on with that mug for a long time and then it fell one day. We looked for many but there was no mug that I could call my own. Mugs went out of my life as swiftly as they had entered and then I got one for Shubham, it was a musical one which played a tune every time it was tilted. Shubham would drink his Horlicks in that and mugs made a reentry in my life. Over the years I have had a personalised one for Shubham, another personalised one with my friends’ picture, then the multitude of ceramic ones as well as the glass ones with lids, some with wonderful captions, others with sippers, all in multiple colours. I have got mugs with personalities that told their own stories, and stood out among the many. I got one for Shubham which reads, “I’ll be there for you!” and there is another which maintains temperature and I will gift it to that one friend who sips on green tea through the day; but one of my favourites reads, “Coffee is a hug in a mug”.
I think it’s high time I go get a new one for myself which would look worthy of carrying my favourite brew when I would cradle it in my hands and feel the hug in my mug!

11 Comments Add yours

  1. Jess says:

    You give us history through the stories of your mugs.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. A. Shruti says:

      Thanks for commenting. Hope you liked it!

      Like

  2. amyilene says:

    As someone who loves my coffee (a lot!) and is very particular about my mugs, I really appreciate this slice! It makes me wonder if I could retrace some of my life simply through the mugs I still have and the memory of those that have shattered…

    Liked by 1 person

    1. A. Shruti says:

      Look forward to reading about it! Thanks for commenting!

      Liked by 1 person

  3. glenda funk says:

    I love every detail in this lyrical post. I’m a coffee drinker but not a milk drinker. I have a rotation of three mugs right now for my morning coffee, all gifts. I recently retired a mug gifted to me by a student w/ the caption, “I hate when I wake up and Donald Trump is president.” Someone suggested a smash that one. Instead it’s in the back of the cabinet.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. A. Shruti says:

      Haha, that made me chuckle!

      Like

  4. Mark Ryan says:

    Funny how drinks taste differently in either mugs, cups or glasses. I little chipped, faded but much loved….ourselves and mugs.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. A. Shruti says:

      Oh wow! Mark I just love your insights!

      Liked by 1 person

      1. Mark Ryan says:

        hehe, just a thought in a teacup.

        Liked by 1 person

  5. Susan Kennedy says:

    Fascinating how mugs are a phenomenon. I carefully select the mug I carry to work on Mondays to drink from throughout that week. Some sayings but more memories., each mug a moment from a friend or a place.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. A. Shruti says:

      Glad to know that! Hope the mug chosen this time brings in mugful of happiness and happy memories the whole week through.

      Like

Leave a comment